The hidden gems in our communities


imagesTwo disconnected elements that nevertheless have a link: Last night as I returned to Brighton just after 7pm I remembered that I had put an entry into my diary to try to visit the  open day which ran from 4pm to 7pm. I was delighted that the project was still open when I arrived, albeit with the last few visitors leaving as I arrived. I had a quick tour round which was very informative and interesting. I saw the bee hives just as the last few bees were going in for the night. Then I had a great chat to Warren Carter who clearly plays an important role in the project. One of the themes that emerged from our discussion was the mixed extent to which local politicians have engaged with the project. Although the project is called the Moulsecoomb Forest Garden it is actually based on the edge of Hollingdean so it fits into the Hollingdean and Stanmer ward of the City Council. In an ideal world Councillors for both Hollingdean and Moulsecoomb and Bevendean would see this as something they could work hard to promote and champion. Then this morning I came across this report from the Mirror newspaper which refers to the urgent need for MPs like Theresa May to engage with the foodbanks in their constituencies. The report does not indicate if Mrs May has visited the foodbank in Maidenhead, however it is clear that many of our Councillors, let alone MPs have not visited their local foodbanks. At the beginning of the election campaign I got into a debate with a Hove Councillor who had not visited any foodbanks in the city. Such disconnects from these hidden or not so hidden elements of our society cannot be justified by either MPs or Councillors. None of these charities are wanting to be seen as having a link to any political party, as was made clear to me in my discussion with Warren last night, but to be ignored by any Councillors or MPs means that our representatives are as ignorant of these vital projects as I confess I was until last night.

About ianchisnall

I have a passion to see public policy made accessible everyone who want to improve the wellbeing of their communities. I am interested in issues related to crime and policing as well as in policies on health services and strategic planning.
This entry was posted in Brighton & Hove, Education, Environment, Parliament and Democracy, Youth Issues and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

