The Swarm


IMG_20160529_132914On Sunday Afternoon while I was cutting the grass in our garden, I heard a deep vibration which could almost have been a drill or mower in a nearby house, but the whining sound grew more intense, before the sky filled with insects. I confess to my own total ignorance that these creatures did not seem to be wasps and they did not look like the bees that visit us from time to time. In the end the sound and the sheer number of the creatures in the air persuaded me to watch from inside the house. After half an hour or so they settled on a wall in our garden and then about an hour later moved to the hedge, just above the wall. They remained there for another hour or two before once again taking to the air. Sadly one or two were left behind unaware that the Queen bee had departed. The sight of these honey bees was something I won’t forget in a hurry. Although we called our local contact from the British Bee Keepers Association, sadly Michael and his daughter were unable to visit until most of the bees had left. However the sight of them in their protective clothing was another image that will remain with me and my neighbours for some time.

About ianchisnall

I have a passion to see public policy made accessible everyone who want to improve the wellbeing of their communities. I am interested in issues related to crime and policing as well as in policies on health services and strategic planning.
This entry was posted in Brighton & Hove, Charities, Environment and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

