Tomorrow is really important


untitled (174)On Tuesday I wrote about the plans for tomorrows Disabled Access Day. My blog was read by only a small number of people. Yesterday I wrote a provocative piece following a series of attacks on charities by the Conservative Party in Parliament and several Conservative MPs. A totally different outcome in terms of the number of readers I attracted, primarily I suspect from incensed Conservatives. Whilst tomorrow is a day to celebrate access to our services, not one for anger I nevertheless wish I could have found a way to attract similar numbers of readers to my blog on Tuesday that I achieved yesterday. Tomorrow is an important day. If you run services it is a great day to ensure that your building or activities really are accessibly to 100% of the population, not just to the 79% who claimed on the 2011 census that they were able bodied. Along with the 21% who owned their disability as far as the census is concerned are many others who wish their disability to remain hidden. That is something we should get excited about, rather than my view of how a political party operates in the public sphere.

About ianchisnall

I have a passion to see public policy made accessible everyone who want to improve the wellbeing of their communities. I am interested in issues related to crime and policing as well as in policies on health services and strategic planning.
This entry was posted in Parliament and Democracy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

